From Al Qu’ran al Kareem, the Dictation of the Very Best Verses by Allah, the Most High to His Prophet, Muhammad, the Most Worthy of Men: “Forget Yourselves.”

2:40-47 

O Children of Israel, remember My favor which I have bestowed upon you and fulfill My covenant [upon you] that I will fulfill your covenant [from Me], and be afraid of [only] Me.

And believe in what I have sent down confirming that which is [already] with you, and be not the first to disbelieve in it. And do not exchange My signs for a small price, and fear [only] Me.

And do not mix the truth with falsehood or conceal the truth while you know [it].

And establish prayer and give zakah and bow with those who bow [in worship and obedience].

Do you order righteousness of the people and forget yourselves while you recite the Scripture? Then will you not reason?

And seek help through patience and prayer, and indeed, it is difficult except for the humbly submissive [to Allah ]

Who are certain that they will meet their Lord and that they will return to Him.

O Children of Israel, remember My favor that I have bestowed upon you and that I preferred you over the worlds.

Commentary:

You cannot be a muslim or practice Islam without critical thinking skills. Allah has commanded they be used during prayer, (hassa), contemplation of the Verses, (dua), acts of charity (zakah), etc.

Obedience is not enough, worship is not enough, the ability to cite scripture is not enough. Without thorough understanding of history, the arts, sciences, current events, and contemporary civilization it is impossible to apply the Instruction of the Qu’ran.

Published by

theunseenmeans

I live in Washington DC where I work in marketing in the association industry. I am soon to be a published author of a novel The Rage of Ganumede and a dissertation, the Lightning Manifesto. In my spare time, I play the French horn, and am an amateur composer. https://soundcloud.com/michael-das-501331974. I need to find a photographer for a beauty shot. My selfies make my nose look too big.

Leave a comment